Official Community Forums Home

Thyroid Problems And Sex Drive?

curvacious_lust

• Members

I am wondering if I have thyroid problems. There is a family history of this. I have put on weight and just can't seem to lose it. Also (can't believe I"m saying this) my libido is sluggish now too. I can't see a doctor for 3 months as hubby is starting a new job and I will FINALLY have insurance so I can get this all checked out.

Anyone here have this issue or know someone who does?? Helllp!!!

• Members
I am wondering if I have thyroid problems. There is a family history of this. I have put on weight and just can't seem to lose it. Also (can't believe I"m saying this) my libido is sluggish now too. I can't see a doctor for 3 months as hubby is starting a new job and I will FINALLY have insurance so I can get this all checked out.

Anyone here have this issue or know someone who does?? Helllp!!!

I’m not a doctor (although I have been known to play one on the internet. lol) but, I think it's a good possibility that your thyroid is giving you issues. Of course the weight gain is a pretty big sign, especially if it's a significant amount over a short amount of time, as well as feeling sluggish. If you have a family history, I would get it checked out immediately, so that if you do have an issue, you can get on medication and back to normal ASAP! When I read this post, I asked my roommate who was diagnosed with Hyperthyroidism when she was young (she’s 30 now;) she said that it sounds as though it could be the answer, as she said she has some of the same symptoms when she doesn't take her medication regularly.

I hope this helps.

Meg

• Members

CL sorry to hear that you may be having problems....i just read a article on this very issue and here are some signs that you should ask your doctor for a thyroid test if you have two or more of these symptoms: