Official Community Forums Home

Pre-marital Counseling

• Members

Would it be a good idea for people to get some sort of counseling before they got married, to give them an idea of what to expect, that things wouldn't always be rosey, typical issues that become problems and how to deal with them, etc. and so on and so forth?

I don't have any idea how accurate this is, but I have this notion that "back in the old days," the minister would sit the prospective couple down and have a talk with them, but that that is not so common any more.

• Review Team

I am new to this marriage stuff, but IMO, I don't think pre-marital counseling would really do much. It seems to me that everyone always thinks "that will never happen to us" when they start out. They could be told that times will be tough, that the communication will break-down without work to keep it open, that there will be days when you get on each others' nerves, etc. but when all you can think of is tying the knot and all the joy that comes from that, I think very few would actually listen to the warnings. I could be wrong but it seems to me that all that might happen, is a couple would be guilted into staying together even when a split might be best either out of a sense of religious obligation or some kind of duty. Don't get me wrong, I don't think splitting should be the first option, but sometimes it is the best option and I really don't think counseling before the marriage would change that.

• Members

Sorry Square I agree with MsLayD. Although I can see your point, I have to say most engaged couples are in a state of..... well almost euphoria? And they don't come down until real life kicks in, which time wise is different for everyone. The only good it can do is having the words said out loud, about commitment, communication, respect, love, is that perhaps it will remind one in times of need, but I wouldn't hold my breath for that.