Official Community Forums Home

Alternative Menstrual Supplies

LilGreenPuffer

• Members

It's really easy. If you're comfortable with your own body, it's just not a big deal. Plus, you throw away thousands and thousands fewer of them - infinitely better for the environment. Plus, it's actually better for your body. The bleach used in regular tampons is linked to cervical cancer, and the materials in them leave small lacerations in your vagina.

I have heard that cloth pads are really soft and comfy, and that the cups are pretty much the greatest things ever.

• Members

Listen, I am extremely comfortable with my own body, but I am soooooo with Wendy here - NO NO NO!

However, I do salute your attention to preserving the environment, I just believe that the standard tampon and pad were designed for a reason.

• Members

Well i have some second hand experience, well some heresy any way. As some of you may remember I did a stint as a cam girl and well, when your vagina is your money maker, you can't afford to take a week off. So what happens during that time of the month? Well while there are fetishes for that (ewww) most women went to either the sponge or the cup. I had my birth control to fix that little problem. But the sponge was used quite often because you can still easily use your toys (or ya know the real thing if you have that handy ;) ) and not have to worry about it, most men say they can't really feel it. Like LilP said you take it out, wash it clean, well rinse it, and there ya go. they are cheap enough that if you want to use a new on each month you can, plus a) they break down and B) your still throwing out a ton less garbage. The cup however had a few draw backs in the sex and toy department. When put in properly it literally catches and holds all your blood, but men said they can feel it and i have heard of a few women who said that mid-session they had it spill.