Official Community Forums Home

Is Anal Safe Following Perenial Trauma?

babygurl

• Members

I suffered significant trauma during childbirth, tearing all the way through my sphincter. My OB has warned me that another vaginal birth could cause additional trauma to the area. Repeat trauma raises an 80% risk of incontinence. So... my question is, do you think anal sex/play is risky? Should I avoid it?

• Members

I am not a doctor but I would avoid it if I was in your place.

• Members

With my first baby I had a fourth degree tear. I tore right up to my sphincter and for a couple of months it was uncomfortable to even go to the bathroom. It has been four years later (and 2 vaginal births later) and it has healed just fine. I would hold off on any anal play for a while but rest assure you will be able to have anal sex. It was about 6 months before I would even let me husband caress my butt. I do have scar tissue on my perineum that can give me some problems (mostly when it stretches) but it is not painful. A good indication when to start having anal sex is when you don't have any pain during a bowl movement. About 4 months everything felt normal but I waited an additional 2 months to be on the safe side.

• Members
With my first baby I had a fourth degree tear. I tore right up to my sphincter and for a couple of months it was uncomfortable to even go to the bathroom. It has been four years later (and 2 vaginal births later) and it has healed just fine. I would hold off on any anal play for a while but rest assure you will be able to have anal sex. It was about 6 months before I would even let me husband caress my butt. I do have scar tissue on my perineum that can give me some problems (mostly when it stretches) but it is not painful. A good indication when to start having anal sex is when you don't have any pain during a bowl movement. About 4 months everything felt normal but I waited an additional 2 months to be on the safe side.