Official Community Forums Home

Long Distance Relationship

• Members

This is something I've been wanting to talk about for quite awhile, but wasn't sure where to do it. I'm not a very regular poster here, but I know that the posters here give honest advice, so I thought I'd give it a shot.

I'm in a long distance relationship, and have been for just over three years. We knew each other before that, but I think it's unnecessary backstory. He lives just over 12 hours away. He lives in the US, and I live in Canada. We talk on the phone every single night (I honestly can't remember a day where we haven't spoken on the phone...I think there have been one or two, but it's a very rare occurrence). We see each other every other weekend, driving 6 hours each to meet at the "halfway point". At Christmas, I spend a week with him. In the summer, I spend two weeks at his place, then two weeks here, then two at his place, and two here (I'm a teacher). We miss maybe 2 of our "every other weekend" visits a year for strange reasons - illness, weird work situations - but that is also rare. We set up our "agreement" about phone conversations early on. In our opinions, we are a committed couple, and just as if we were living together, if one of us can't make our usual phone time, we let the other know.