Official Community Forums Home

I Hate The Disability Aspect Of Job Seeking

Sailor Girl

• Members

I don't have a job, I didn't graduate from college. I've been helping my mother since she's had breast cancer for the past three years, and when I keep job seeking, all I see is disability job fairs. Why? I hate feeling like I need a whole job fair set aside for the people with developmental delays, the people in wheelchairs, because we're so unique, you can't lump us together into one fair. I'd rather get passed over, while Joe sighted woman gets a job and know that i'm with my peers. I just can not stand the disability aspect of oh well let's group them into that category. My resume is not something i'm proud of, I don't even have a cover letter, I swear I could cry I'm just so frustrated. I just want someone to help write the cover letter, I'll send it to the job employer, and be done with it. I won't even go into salary negotiations or anything, sigh.

• Members

Thanks for your words. I didn't take it as a criticism, and I admit when I heard Christian, I did before reading, lump you as you say into that preconcieved notion. I realize there are differing aspects of religion as with all life. All i want is to do something, anything. I'm really not school oriented, I had an experience wherein first i let the disability office handle everything. Once i got on my feet, and said this is how to help me, they were offended and ended up making me feel as though it was my fault for getting a backbone. I have my resume set, I'll have a friend work on it again, she did the formatting. I'm not picky, I have experience in customer service, though not much. But my work ethic is what I think will set me apart, even on breaks between classes, I'd eat lunch and log into the phone system. You'd have to break my hands for me not to work. I'm just so annoyed and frustrated, sigh. Thanks for responding.

• Members